Trilogy: The Weeping Meadow

Directed by Théo Angelopoulos On Saturday, November 17 at 7:30 pm

Greece | 2004 | 35mm | 167’ | Greek with French subtitles
With : Alexandra Aidini, Nikos Poursanidis and Giorgos Armenis.


“The weeping meadow is the first film in the Theo Angelopoulos “ Trilogy” that tells of the fate of the Greek people through the relationship between two people, a relationship that spans the 20th century all the way to the early 21st. The first part is set in Greece between 1919 and 1949, beginning with the entry of the Red Army into Odessa and the flight of the city’s Greek community and ends in 1949 with the end of the Greek civil war. Shooting has already begun on Lake Kerkini where an entire village was built as a film set. The village has now sunck in the water. Shooting began in early April and will continue in October.

Director's Filmography


1970 Reconstruction

1977 The Hunters

1988 Landscape in the Mist

1991 The Suspended Step of The Stork

1995 Ulysses’ Gaze

1998 Eternity and a Day

2004 The Weaping Meadow

2009 The Dust of Time